Vs. The One Lovely Blog Award

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Internet
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal. Last week I received the following comment in my wordpress blog comment area thingy place (sorry for the technical jargon) -

“Hey Makya,

I love your blog. I’ve nominated it for a One Lovely Blog Award: http://mackthewriter.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/internet-miracles-can-come-true/

Click on the link to see how to accept, if you’re interested.

Debbi”

Firstly, let me say that I love Debbi Mack. Well, that might be overstating it a little bit. I don’t, in fact, know Debbi Mack. She was, however, one of the very first misguided bloggers to provide a link to my blog on her blog back when I started this thing up and I would like to make it quite clear that any time anyone has something nice to say about me, I’m on board. I’m certainly thankful that she thought of me. That being said…

There are a number of blogger to blogger awards with names like: The One Lovely Blog Award, The Awesome Blog Content Award, and The Look, Someone Created a Blog Award. Okay, I made that last one up, but I’m sure that if I invested enough time and nominated enough bloggers, I could get that one up and running.

Denzel Washington in the lobby of the Dorothy ...

“Here’s one for you, and one for you…”

Here’s how they work. When you win this award, you are requested to nominate ten other blogs…it’s essentially an award chain letter. Obviously, if every blogger that won this award were to nominate ten others, every single blogger in the world will have won within a matter of days. I’ve got to figure this hurts the prestige just a little. I mean, if after winning the Academy Award, Denzel was given ten more Oscars to quickly hand out to folks in the audience and so on and so forth…

Look, I understand why we do it for young children. I’m not opposed to the notion of every kid on every soccer team taking home a trophy when they’re six. It makes them happy. They’re young enough to forego teaching them tough lessons about the real world and let them have a miniature gold-colored, plastic statue of a forward, mid-kick atop a faux-marble base. It’s fine for kids. But I’m not quite as sold on the culture of adults that says everybody’s special and we all deserve recognition for every little thing.

The internet has helped to create a world in which anyone can rant about anything, upload hilarious shots of teenagers getting hit in the crotch, and create your very own “music” video…and talent is never a prerequisite. Like almost everything in the universe, this is good and bad. But the web’s content is still mostly the latter. I’m sorry, but we’re not all special.

But not me, I am special. Clearly. I mean, I won an award, suckers. And it comes with a questionnaire (who doesn’t want to feel like they’re being interviewed after receiving their award?) Here are the questions (complete with my answers) that accompany the One Lovely Blog Award –   

1. What is your favorite color? Yellow with purple polka dots.

2. What is your favorite animal? Humans.

3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink? Vodka.

4. Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter? No.

5. What is your favorite pattern? I refuse to answer on the grounds that this is a ridiculous question.

6. Do you prefer giving or getting presents? I prefer the past.

7. What is your favorite number? Excuse me? That’s a little bit personal, thank you very much.

8. What is your favorite day of the week? Tomorrow.

9. What is your favorite flower? I don’t have a favorite flower. I do have a favorite flour – Self rising, wheat.

10. What’s your passion? My passion is mocking blogger awards while still trying not to look like a complete jackass. And it’s not easy. Look, I understand that people are just trying to be nice. I appreciate that. I very much appreciate that Ms. Mack took the time to say that she enjoys my writing. That does mean something to me. It means more than an award that someone created as an experiment in exponential randomness.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that these awards are sort of ridiculous and silly…and…thank you very much.

Comments
  1. speaker7 says:

    I’d like to nominate this comment for the Greatest First Comment Ever Written About a Blog Post Titled The One Lovely Blog Award. I am so honored. Thank you.

  2. Alex Jones says:

    I would like to nominate you for the Bah Humbug Award, the three ghosts from Christmas Present, Past and Future will be along soon ;-)

    I get what you are saying, successful bloggers going to get a lot of blogging awards. Take it as it is, your readers are thinking about you, they figure amongst their top ten you are amongst their fave blogs. These nominations are a way of getting an idea of how successfully engaged you are to your readers, along with likes, comments, followers and the visit stats.

    I agree with you that they are annoying in that they come with obligations. I get loads of nominations, which I record on a nomination page on my blog, but don’t follow through on the obligations. I compromised by creating the Dandelion Award, which has no obligations.

  3. heathersnyder1 says:

    My favorite pattern is Vintage Vogue Couturier Design No. 273…what…nobody was asking me? Ohhhh…don’t I feel foolish. Never mind.

    Also loved your answer to #10. And…congratulations on the nomination…I think.

  4. Debbi says:

    A most appropriate response. Ha ha ha …

    • Makya McBee says:

      Speaker – Don’t celebrate yet. You’ve been nominated, but you haven’t won. There are dozens of others nominated in this category (but I’m rooting for you).

      Alex – I can’t wait until I get nominated for one of your Dandies!

      Heather – You just need to start a blog…you’ll be nominated and asked to list a few of your favorite things in no time (or, in my case, just under a year and a half).

      Debbi – So glad you approve as I was tip-toeing around being fairly rude. Which was not my intent. I do appreciate the thought. Please feel free to nominate me for many more things in the future.

Put yo' comments here

