There’s Nothing Like a Good Nap

Posted: April 26, 2012 in Behavior
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal. My typical sleep schedule looks something like this – go to bed at 5:30 am, wake up at 11:45, back for a late afternoon nap from 3:20 to 4:10, awake and productive for the early evening, a quick forty winks at 10:30 pm then back up at 12:40 in the morning where I power through until I get sleepy again. In other words, I don’t have a typical sleep schedule. What can I say? Some of need a little  beauty sleep…some of us need a lot.

Many might think that this constant napping makes me a lazy man. They would be wrong. It’s not the napping that makes me lazy, it’s just my nature. The napping, in fact, is a benefit of my apathy.

According to the National Sleep Foundation (the only place where workers are rewarded for sleeping on the job) the power napper may have many advantages over the more conventional stay-awake-all-day individual.

Koala sleeping on a tree top

Now that's a professional napper.

A brief, afternoon sleep can enhance alertness, increase productivity, improve your memory and boost creativity. I know that every time I wake up from a nap, my creative juices are flowing and I’m always coming up with new and interesting places to take my next nap.

Even better, a recent study found that those who nap at least three times per week have a 37% lower risk of heart-related death. And, double bonus, there’s a good chance that if they do suffer a heart-related death that they’ll just sleep through it.

And all of these are benefits of what sleep experts call the “power nap.” A power nap is 18-25 minutes in duration and ends before the snoozer enters slow-wave sleep. But if you want to see a truly powerful napper, you should check out my style. Sure, a 25 minute nap is fine if you’re a kindergartener, but I’m a full grown man…and I nap like it. If twenty minutes asleep in the afternoon can lower your risk of heart ailments by 37%, my 90 minute super nap will eliminate the possibility entirely. And if those brief dozers think they’re memory, alertness and productivity are increased, they should check out what I can accomplish after my vigorous, dynamic, ultra nap – which can last up to four hours.

That’s right. I’m never more productive than when I’m asleep. Just imagine what I could accomplish if I never got up at all…

So I humbly suggest that all of you try to incorporate a nap or two (or fourteen) into your daily schedule. Invite your friends over and have a nap party. A siesta fiesta, if you will. Take a nap with your kids. Snuggle up with the family pet for a quick catnap. Grab your iphone and open up your nap app. However, whenever, wherever, treat yourself to a nap. And if you’re simply too busy for napping….I wouldn’t worry about it…I mean, it’s nothing to lose sleep over.

Comments
  1. speaker7 says:

    I think that’s a greazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Sorry I fell asleep on my keyboard and my nose was pressed down on the z. I feel refreshed and VERY creatizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  2. As the sufferer of insomnia, I hate you a little bit and am seriously rethinking our green card marriage.

  3. heathersnyder1 says:

    I’m usually lucky to get 4-5 hours of sleep at night. Living mostly in hotels, you deal with kids running up and down the halls (at 1:00 a.m…not kidding), construction workers in the rooms above you walking around all hours of the night, parties, etc. It’s also impossible for me to fall asleep in a car or airplane.
    Oh and one time at a motel I stayed at…drug dealers and prostitutes outside.
    Sorry…I’m complaining…I’m all for naptime! Yayyyy bring on the naptime!!!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I, too, am a proud napper!

    • Makya McBee says:

      Speaker – Very creatizz reply, I like your style.

      Pretty – What? It’s the perfect union. You can teach me about the history of the royal family and I can teach you how to nap.

      Heather – What about those kids trying to run up and down the halls while you’re distracting them with your sleep? Who will speak for the kids?

      Stephanie – Sleepers unite! Right after a nap…

  5. Lokyra Stone says:

    Evidently the concept of a solid 8 hours of sleep is pretty new. Up until electricity came about, most cultures had people sleeping for a few hours at a time, get up and get some stuff done, then sleep for a few more hours. That’s how those psychos always had fresh baked bread for breakfast. MIDNIGHT BAKERS.
    I personally like the cultures where it’s almost mandatory to take a nap in the middle of the day. Granted, it’s usually because they live in climates where it’s impossible to work through the middle of the day without bursting into flames, but still.

Put yo' comments here

