2012 – A Great Year for Movies

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Hollywood
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal. My best friend and I have a reoccurring argument. It goes something like this. He says, “This is a terrible year for movies. They just don’t make ‘em like they used to. What’s wrong with the world? I hate everything!” To which I reply, “I thought this was a pretty good year for movies. I enjoyed a number of films that were released in the past twelve months. And I’m much too level-headed, reasonable and optimistic to think otherwise.”

We do this every year. Granted, he tends to exaggerate how bad things are and I am right. But this year, I think I am particularly right.

We’ve already had the surprisingly funny 21 Jump Street, the enticing Cabin in the Woods, and the under-appreciated Friends with Kids.

The Dark Knight Rises

The Dark Knight Rises (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But the best is yet to come. Two of my favorite film makers, Wes Anderson and Christopher Nolan both have movies coming out in the next few months, and I can’t decide which I’m more anticipating – The Dark Knight Rises or Moonrise Kingdom. All I know is put the word “rise” in your title, and I’m in the seat, baby.

And there are many more films I’m looking forward to in 2012.

Dark Shadows – I’ve never seen the television show, but this looks like it just might be the movie that allows me to like Tim Burton to the degree to which I would like to like him.

The Dictator – I’m very much hoping that Sacha Baron Cohen can be as entertaining when he’s working with a screenplay as he is improvising.

To Rome with Love – I’ve always been a fan of Woody Allen and if last year’s outing was any indication, he’s returning again to his more comedic roots. Count me in.

The Campaign – Don’t know much about this one. But I have a theory that Zach Galifianakis has the rare ability to make almost anything funny (even his own last name).

Prometheus – Secrecy. Good ad campaign. Hype. History. Promising.

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World – Steve Carell inserts humanity into his comedy like nobody’s business. He and I both know that you can’t misspell “comedy” without “drama.”

Looper – I’ve always loved good science fiction. Unfortunately, it’s pretty difficult to make good science fiction. This one looks like it could do the trick.

Toss in Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, The Hobbit, Ted, This is Forty, the new Spiderman and some others that I’m probably forgetting and 2012 has a tremendous amount of movie potential. My friend might still want to go back to the nineties, but I’m living in the present. And, if the Mayans were right about 2012, maybe we just saved the best for last.

Comments
  1. I am so very excited about The Hobbit. Are there other movies to be released this year?

  2. Melanie Long says:

    I also can’t wait to see To Rome With Love. Been eagerly anticipating The Raven as well!

  3. speaker7 says:

    I want to see Bernie by Richard Linklater. I’ve been a fan since Slacker.

  4. heathersnyder1 says:

    I really liked 21 Jump Street, very funny. I still haven’t seen Friends With Kids. I really want to see Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, Dark Shadows, The Dark Knight Rises, The Dictator, The Hobbit, The Pirates! Band of Misfits & The Raven. I haven’t heard of Seeking a Friend for the End of the World, The Campaign and To Rome with Love . I’ll add them to my list, they sound really good. I just saw the preview to Prometheus at the theater tonight. Would love to see that. Love Noomi Rapace and Charlize Theron.

  5. heathersnyder1 says:

    Actually just looked on imdb.com, Ted and This is Forty sound really good, too. Adding to my movies to see.

    • Makya McBee says:

      Cliche – My dad agrees with you. The fact that you’re both incorrect should not, however, dampen your enthusiasm for what is likely to be one of the top twenty movies of the year.

      Melanie – Quoth the Cusack nevermore.

      Speaker – Not a bad pick. I’ll consider adding it to my list.

      Heather – Your tendency to agree with my esteemed opinions is much appreciated.

      • heathersnyder1 says:

        Hahaha! You’re welcome. I value your esteemed opinions on movies. I make my movie lists so when I get shipped off to mapping jobs, it’s my escape. I lost count on how many theaters I’ve been in around the U.S.

        I also want to see Bel Ami, Django Unchained, Lawless (Jessica Chastain, Shia LaBeouf), Les Misérables, Skyfall, The Company You Keep, The Gangster Squad, The Great Gatsby and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

        My movie list keeps getting bigger and bigger.

Put yo' comments here

