The Pull of Pulp

Posted: March 27, 2012 in Food
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal. I loves me some pulp.

Avoid the Noid

How could Flav resist?

In orange juice.

It’s not like I just wallow around in buckets of pulp. That would be crazy. Nobody bathes in bathtubs of pulp. And, of course, there aren’t any pictures of me online doing this…so don’t even bother to look.

Whether it’s Tropicana’s “Lots of Pulp,” Florida Natural’s “Most Pulp,” Minute Maid’s “High Pulp,” or Florida Natural’s “High Pulp,” I think we can all agree that juice manufacturers could put a little more effort into naming their products. But whatever you call them, I’m a high-lots of-most pulp kind of guy.

I like my juice like I like my monkeys…chunky.

Besides the fact that pulpy oj tastes better, most of an orange’s flavanoids are found in its pulp. And, while unwilling to do the necessary research due to the fact that reading about flavanoids is unreasonably boring, I can only assume that they’re a good thing and not the unnatural love child of Flava Flav and the Noid.

So, if you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend the pulpiest of orange juices. But if you prefer your breakfast beverage pulp-free, I bear you no ill will. There’s plenty of room in this world for all types. And the last thing I want my new and improved, positive blog to do is create pulp friction.

Comments
  1. speaker7 says:

    I’m glad two brands went with “high pulp” because that makes the most sense or high sense.

  2. I am holding out hope that someone will call their product “pulpy chow.”

  3. heathersnyder1 says:

    Oh my gosh, I remember the Noid! I spent most of my life trying to avoid him…and I don’t even know why.

  4. heathersnyder1 says:

    Oh yeah, and pulpy orange juice is awesome!

    • Makya McBee says:

      Speaker – Please refrain from making the comments more clever than the posts you’re commenting on, thank you for your cooperation.

      Cliche – I am holding out hope that they will not.

      Heather – Everyone avoided the Noid so well that most people don’t even remember who he is.

  5. Lokyra Stone says:

    I prefer the people around me hate high pulp oj. Then they leave my orange juice the hell alone!

Put yo' comments here

