It’s a Versus Firstus – A Makya McBee Book Review

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Books
Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s the deal. A couple of weeks ago I got an email from writer, blog enthusiast, and gal about town, A.S. Newman asking if I might be interested in reviewing her new book. And, while I am generally suspicious of people who hide their names with initials, I gave her a tentative definitely.

I know what you’re thinking, “What, so this is now a blog that reviews stuff?”

I guess so.

The book in question is Things to Bitch About, by A.S. Newman and P.C. Trauth. It’s a journal with each page featuring a topic to complain about followed by a blank, lined page where the reader can fill in their own thoughts. Essentially, A.S. and P.C. have created Makya McBee Vs. – The Home Game. Sure, you enjoy reading my comically skewed takes on daily annoyances, but now, with the help of Things to Bitch About, you can play along at home.

Some of the topics are to be expected, like taxes and bad drivers. But others offer the fortunate owner an opportunity to sound off on strangely unique subjects. My favorite prompt in the book is omnivores. Come on, who among us hasn’t had a gripe or two about omnivores? I can’t stand them. Thinkin’ they’re so special what with their highfalutin, we eat anything attitude.

I think these authors have hit upon a great idea by leaving much of the writing to the reader. They’ve inspired me to create a do-it-yourself novel. Here’s a sneak preview of the first chapter.

CHAPTER ONE

________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

What do you think? It’s sure to be a best-seller, as each reader can create the type of novel they’d be most interested in reading.

But I josh with A.S. and P.C. (I wonder if they’ve ever considered the fact that they’re just an “A” short of being the ASPCA?). What they’ve created is a good tool for those who want to write everyday but never know how to get started. And a nice gift book for those special moaners in your life. They’ve written the first gripe journal, or complaint diary. It’s a gurnal. Or a complaintary. Wow, I am not very good at combining words. You might say I’m bad combiner or a poor linker. A babiner. A poonker. Yes, I’m quite bad at this.

Anyway, the book is available (in exchange for money) here. A.S. gave me a copy so that I could review it, and suggested I then give my copy to some lucky reader of my blog. But I’m not going to do that. You guys need to earn it. Besides, what A.S. failed to realize is that if I give the book to somebody else, I will no longer have it. How does that help me? [New development...after reading this review, the author has offered up a free copy of the book from her own collection...all you have to do is leave a comment and you'll be entered into a random drawing...come on, how many things in life are free? Or random?]

So if you have anything you’d like reviewed (movies, books, erotic pottery), just send them on over. I’ll review anything. By anyone.

Except omnivores.

I hate omnivores.

Comments
  1. A.N. says:

    This is hands down the best review I have read about Things to Bitch About so far! Makya McBee, thank you so much for conveying the true spirit of P.C.’s and my book in your post. I might just steal your combo names for the book – “gurnal” and “compaintary” – because I love them so much! In exchange, I’d be happy to giveaway an extra copy of the book to one of your faithful blog followers who leaves a comment on this post or ventures over to Facebook and “likes” the book page for Things to Bitch About (facebook.com/ThingstoBtchAbout) – what do you think? :) – from “gal about town” A.S. Newman

    • Makya McBee says:

      Sounds like a plan. We’ll see how many comments we have after a week and then you can give to your heart’s content. (By the way, I see that you’re now trying to hide your last name in an initial as well – “A.N.” – but it’s too late for that…diabolical laughther).

      • A.N. says:

        Looking forward to giving away a copy of the book! On March 1st, we’ll draw a name for a lucky winner. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll reveal my full name…haha!

  2. speaker7 says:

    Please review this comment. You may keep it after you are through.

  3. ted says:

    Sounds like a great idea. Right up there with my favorite cook it yourself restaurants, film it yourself movies, and my assemble it yourself new car. You can tell the author I will immediately devote all my free time to writing her book for her.

  4. Lokyra Stone says:

    I bet with a little reconfiguring, it could even be made into a board game. Things To Bitch About: The Game. There can be little Makya playing pieces.
    I have no idea what the point of the game would be.You know. Other than bitching.

    • Makya McBee says:

      Speaker – On a scale of 4 to 23, I give this comment a 19. It’s good enough that I’m considering a future contest where the winner gets this comment.

      Ted – While your words appear critical, your participation in the book give away reveals your true desire to rant in journal form.

      Lokyra – Some dream of growing up to be a professional athlete or to walk on the moon, I dreamt of a day where my life would become a board game. And today I am one step closer. It could be like Clue…”Makya McBee, in the Library, with the lead pipe, complaining about turtle necks.”

  5. heathersnyder1 says:

    I will say, if I had a copy of Things to Bitch About, I could just vent about my frustrations. It would save me from having to break out my awesome kick-ass Ninja Warrior Skillz on some unsuspecting jerk that ruined my day. See, all frustrating people/things of the world…A.S. Newman and P.C. Trauth have just saved your butts!

  6. Crystal says:

    Me want free book.

  7. Angelina says:

    Me want free book, too. Me also want free cookies.

    • Makya McBee says:

      I would like to thank everyone who participated in the much ballyhooed book give away. Unfortunately, there can be only one winner (and I’m not just talking about in this contest, I’m also referring to life in general…there can be only one) – so I wrote names on scraps of paper, I hired a professional drummer for the afternoon to do a drum roll, and I pulled a name…Lokyra. Now the envy of commenters everywhere, she is the proud soon to be owner of her very own copy of a book. A book that you can both read and write in. Shazam. Congratulations.

      • Lokyra Stone says:

        So not only am I descended from the clan of the Highlander, I also won the book.

        YAY ME!

  8. heathersnyder1 says:

    Yayyy Lokyra :)

Put yo' comments here

