Vs. Random Milestones/Katy Perry as SNL Host

Posted: December 12, 2011 in Behavior
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal.  I’m not particularly down with the celebration of random milestones.  Specifically, people love to celebrate the hundredth anything.  As discussed here, ten is a much-beloved and greatly overrated number.  And one hundred is ten tens…so you can just imagine.

These haphazard ceremonies just make me feel bad for the person celebrating their ninety-eighth birthday.  They make me bemoan the almostness of the ninety-ninth shopper.  And they make me wonder what’s so unspecial about the one hundred first anything.

But I just realized that I don’t have a whole lot of ranting left in me on this topic, so it’s time for an unprecedented…

Versus within a versus!

That’s right, for the first time in this blog’s nine month history, it’s a bonus versus!

English: Katy Perry at MTV Video Music Awards ...

Katy Perry winning (and wearing?) awards

Here’s the deal.  Katy Perry hosted Saturday Night Live this past weekend.  I have nothing against this girl kisser, she seems lovely, but I’m pretty sure she’s supposed to be the musical guest…not the host.  In my opinion, comedians should host and musicians should sing.  But, to her credit, she did show that she’s much more than just a singer.

In a commercial spoof, she imitated Christina Aguilera with a quick song.  In another sketch, she impersonated the lead singer of Florence and the Machine by singing like the lead singer of Florence and the Machine.  In the opening monologue, she discussed her music videos and sang part of her song Teenage Dream.  In another sketch, she offered her take on Pippa Middleton and, although Pippa’s not known for singing, seized the opportunity to sing a song.  Oh, I almost forgot, she also played this obsessive Hello Kitty fan…and she sang a song about how much she loved Hello Kitty.  But she didn’t sing in every single sketch.  Katy Perry had the chance to show some range when she played Katy Perry on a talk show.  And she talked about what it’s like to be a singer.  And then there was the digital short.  It was pretty funny.  It featured Katy Perry.  Singing.

You get my point, eh?

If you only plan on having her sing throughout the show, why not make her the musical guest and get an actor in there to do the acting?  I mean, it’s not like the writers gave her anything to do.  Alec Baldwin had more one-liners in his one minute cameo than she did all night.   I’m just saying.

End of versus within a versus.

Come on, just because something has occurred one hundred times, is that any reason to expect the one hundredth occurrence to be somehow better than all those that came before it?  Why do we go to such extremes to celebrate centennials?  It puts strange, undue pressure on this number and presumes an inherently elevated quality that is rarely there.  Sure, the hundredth of anything is unique…but so is the forty-third.

So, how am I going to do it?   How will I prove that one hundred is a random milestone and not particularly special?   Actually, I just did.  Because, you see…

This is my 100th blog post!  Hooray.  We made it, everybody.  This is the big one.  The one we’ve been waiting for. 

Sure, it was little random and disjointed.  It wasn’t especially amusing. Not particularly insightful.  But it had to be that way.  I could only prove that one hundred should not be more celebrated than any other number by intentionally making my hundredth post unexceptional. 

Of course, that doesn’t explain the previous ninety-nine.

Comments
  1. heathersnyder1 says:

    Congratulations on your 100th blog post!!!
    I shall sing for you “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey, “St. Elmo’s Fire” by John Parr, “Push it to the Limit” by Paul Engemann and “Holding Out for a Hero” by Bonnie Tyler right now in an ’80’s inspirational song montage.

  2. Crystal says:

    Congratulations to you Makya. What present is appropriate for the 100th Blog Post? It’s a little confusing like anniversary presents. The 100th Anniversary Modern gift is a 10-Carat Diamond. Who is going to hold out that long for a diamond?

  3. Angelina says:

    Congrats on your 100th blog! I sortened congratulations cause I don’t know how to spell it.

    • Angelina says:

      Omg I misspelled shortened too

      • Makya McBee says:

        Heather – I wonder if St. Elmo is related to the Elmo from Sesame Street…

        Crystal – I believe the appropriate present is…let me see if I can recall…yeah, a new car. Please email me for delivery instructions.

        Angelina – Speaking of random milestones – your comment is my 1,500th!!! True story. (Your first comment, your comment about the misspelling is my 1,501st)

  4. heathersnyder1 says:

    Sometimes Elmo from Sesame Street sings “St. Elmo’s Fire”…so maybe there is some connection there.

Put yo' comments here

