Vs. Building a Website

Posted: August 7, 2011 in Internet
Tags: , , ,

Here’s the deal.  Lately, I’ve been putting the “free” in freelance copywriter.  That is, I haven’t been getting any work.  People who know more than I do (I suppose that’s redundant, I could just say, “people”) have told me that I need a website.  So, yesterday I purchased a domain name and spent seven hours finding an appropriate website template.  I went to bed thinking, “This is gonna be easy, tomorrow I’ll make my website.”

I’ve been sitting at my computer for eight and a half hours…I still don’t have a website.

It started with me asking a basic question… 

 

 

This was followed with a slightly more complex question…

 

 

This was followed by hours of struggling, typing, figuring things out, realizing that the thing I thought I had just figured out is actually far more complex than I could have imagined, discovering that the very complex thing was actually ridiculously simple if I’d only known about that button, getting up for my third bowl of cereal, pounding my keyboard in frustration, repeating myself, and, finally, this question…

 

 

(I’m not particularly encouraged by the fact that this returned 22,900,000 results).

I wonder, am I the only one who types questions into Google as if I were having a conversation with this mega-search engine? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After this, Google wouldn’t shut up and I was left with a half-finished mess of a website.

So, how am I going to do it?   How will I complete my site and start working again?  I don’t know.  If I knew how to build a website it would be built already.  Every image I upload is a different size than the last, every video I embed takes thirty seconds to start, every page I create floats in cyberspace – disconnected from the rest of my “site.”  And every time I do another Google search it leads me to some article that makes everything I’m struggling to do seem remarkably easy…except for the fact that it includes jargon that leads me on a wild goose chase of technical definitions.

Oh well, I guess I’ll get back to it tomorrow.

Comments
  1. I HATE those questions!! Throws me into a panic and cold sweat. Makes me feel like my life is on the line if I choose the wrong answer!

  2. heathersnyder1 says:

    Good luck with the website Makya…and, what did Google come up with on that cereal shortage thing?

  3. That’s usually how my Google searches go.

  4. zaidaisabella says:

    Good to know I made 1,000th comment last entry. Maybe you should first learn how to make simple stuff….try getting a book about website building that won’t turn you in circles and make some test websites. Then, as you get more comfortable with it, build up until you have your final product of awesomeness.

    Also. 28,900,000 results for the cereal question!!! My heart goes out to those who may not experience the joys of cereal today.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Hilarious. Been there, done that, got the website.

    • Makya McBee says:

      Elizabeth – Deep breaths…everything’s going to be okay…put down the mouse and step away from the keyboard…

      Heather – Google sent me to the grocery store where I had to purchase my own cereal – so much for the information superhighway.

      Shazam – Yeah, it’s almost as if Google isn’t really such a good listener.

      Isabella – I had cereal for all three meals yesterday. I was working on the website all day, so when I got hungry I’d just go pour another bowl. Good times.

      Stephanie – Congratulations. I too, eventually, will have a website. And I’ll use your inspirational, though brief, story to get me there.

  6. Lokyra Stone says:

    Last time I tried to create a website, I barely escaped with my life. I’m still in recovery.
    But once I finish healing up, I’m going to have a badass training montage and go for a rematch.

    Maybe you need a training montage.

  7. Craig says:

    While this video is probably not exactly what you are looking for. It will give you a really good understanding of how a website is built from scratch. It helps to know the fundamentals even if you are messing around with templates. I tried, off and on, to learn haw to build websites for years. Without success. None of it made sense until I saw this video and the ones that followed. Good luck. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3KESBQTD8k&feature=player_detailpage

  8. Laura4NYC says:

    Ouch! I believe people take week-long seminars to get the gist of building their Web Site, just saying. But then again, they also take classes to learn typing, and that is pretty easily accomplished. I would not be able to dig myself through this technical wirrwarr and I am surprised you are not either. Aren’t you a guy, shouldn’t this be in your BLOOD? Anyways, good luck on your Web Site and let us know what the link is, I would like to hear more from you.

  9. veracity says:

    Google and I are dysfunctional together. I cannot live without “him”. Him being the Google. Because he is man. Right?

    • Makya McBee says:

      Lokyra – Of course I need a training montage. Everyone needs a training montage. They’re just too pricey, I’m saving up for when I take a second shot at making the football team.

      Craig – Thanks. Unfortunately, I’m allergic to new information which makes the whole process all the more difficult.

      Laura – I’m a guy in the biological sense…that’s about it…I took a quiz today to name the 32 NFL coaches and I could only come up with two and a half…I don’t know anything about cars…I love romantic comedies…and I’m not good with technology…

      Veracity – I just googled, “What gender is Google,” and didn’t come up with much…I think it’s open to interpretation.

      • Lokyra Stone says:

        I hear they’re running some good deals right now. Buy one, get the second half off. How long have you been saving up for the football team one?

        Also, perhaps you should take some networking lessons. The kind that teach you how to make contacts in different fields. Not football fields. Trade and industry. Like, I developed some awesome contacts whereby, if I whine at them pitifully enough, they will design and build my website for me.

      • Makya McBee says:

        Networking is both the single most important key (other than being able to write) to selling a screenplay and my greatest challenge. Can I borrow your contacts?

      • Lokyra Stone says:

        I’m not sure that would work. These particular contacts require you to have certain ladylike qualities, like a decent rack and the ability to pout prettily. Can you do that?

        Also, I hear the ability to write has little to do with selling a screenplay.

      • Makya McBee says:

        I can pout…I don’t know if it’s pretty. And, contrary to popular belief (and some finished products), you definitely need to be able to write to sell a screenplay.

      • Lokyra Stone says:

        So basically they take well-written screenplays, put them through the “Hollywood Filter” and out comes crap dialogue? Wow. The wonders of the modern age!!

        Practice your pretty pouting. I’ll have my people call your people. We’ll do lunch.

      • Makya McBee says:

        From my limited interactions with the people who are making the movies, I think it’s generally a case of too many cooks…speaking of which, I look forward to our lunch.

      • Lokyra Stone says:

        As long as we don’t have too many cooks cooking our lunch.
        I have witnessed first hand what happens with too many cooks… it ain’t pretty.

  10. roxyhart1973 says:

    Good luck with the website! I wouldn’t wish building a website on my worst enemy.

    As for the cereal thing, you can tell a lot about a person by what cereal they eat. Me, I love Count Chocula, Lucky Charms and Cap’n Crunch. If I’m feeling extra wild and crazy I will mix them all together. That’s just me though.

    • roxyhart1973 says:

      And, I’ll pick most of the cereal out and keep the marshmallows so there’s this whole marshmallow superiority, cereal inferiority thing going on.

      • Makya McBee says:

        When it comes to cereal, I’m an equal opportunity consumer. And when I want to be inspired by a bowl and spoon, I stand atop my desk and call out, “Oh, Cap’n, my Cap’n.”

  11. jimsnyder1 says:

    Now I have a hankering for cereal.

Put yo' comments here

