Vs. “Here’s the deal.”

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Odds and Ends
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Here’s the deal.  I still remember when I started this blog…March of 2011.  It was a simpler time.  I was living in Los Angeles, working as a freelance copywriter and I decided to supplement my failed screenwriting career with big blog money.  (I still have yet to receive my first check from the internet).  I was just a kid with a dream.  What did I know? 

When I created my first blog entry, I started it with the words, “Here’s the deal.”  After finishing, I looked down again at these three simple words…glimmering with promise.  Hey, I thought to myself, maybe I’ll start each entry with these words.  It’ll be my catchphrase.  A way for my readers to gently lower their aching bodies into the warm waters of my prose.  Plus, I thought it flowed nicely.  And when it comes to nicely flowing sentences and the writing of them with intros that are flowing as nicely or nicelier, I’m the guy good at that…writing… of them. 

You know what I mean.  (By the way, since there’s no good image to represent this post, here’s a picture of Bert and Ernie that I drew).

And “Here’s the deal,” isn’t a bad way to start.  You can stick it on the front of anything and it sounds pretty good. 

Here’s the deal.  It was the best of times; it was the worst of times.

Here’s the deal.  Call me Ishmael.

Here’s the deal.  Fish don’t fry in the kitchen.  Beans don’t burn on the grill.  Took a whole lotta tryin’, just to get up that hill.  Now we’re up in the big leagues, gettin’ our turn at bat.  As long as we live, it’s you and me baby, there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that.     

But, as catchy as it is, it’s starting to feel limiting.  Every time I sit down to create a new entry, I start with the words, “Here’s the deal,” and I lead up to the words, “So, how am I going to do it?  How will I _____?”  I’ve painted myself into a corner with my own pithy phraseology.  Damn my conversational tone.

So, how am I going to do it?   How will I stop starting with “Here’s the deal”?  I’ll just stop starting with “Here’s the deal.”  It’s really quite easy.  I’ll simply type alternate words.  But should I?

What do you think?  Have you even noticed that every post starts with the same words?  Would you miss them? 

In recent days, my blog has catapulted into third place in the best humor blog voting – and I couldn’t have done it without all of you who read, comment and share my posts.  So, in a way, this blog is as much yours as it is mine…no, I take that back…it’s still mostly mine.  But, if the readers like, “Here’s the deal,” I’ll keep it.  I’ll embrace it like a person embracing something.  And if you’re ready for something new, I’m with you.  It’s your call – please leave any and all thoughts on the matter in the comments section.

I, for one, am ready for a little change.  People say that variety is the spice of life.  But people also say stuff like, “He who warned, uh, the British that they weren’t gonna be takin’ away our arms, uh, by ringing those bells, and um, makin’ sure as he’s riding his horse through town to send those warning shots and bells that we were going to be sure and we were going to be free, and we were going to be armed,” so who knows.  Bottom line – majority rules, so cast your vote.  I’ll abide, at least temporarily, by your decision.  And that’s the deal.

Comments
  1. Dear Makya,
    I could start this comment with “Here’s the deal–” but that is YOUR catch phrase. I have enjoyed them all and vote that you should keep it.
    You have the nerve to say what you think about a subject; and it is, for the most part, what everybody is thinking, whether we voice our opinions or not. The world is full of things that grind on all our nerves and you have addressed them well.
    Keep on writing!!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I wasn’t with you from day one, but I love the whole “Here’s the deal…” thing you got going on. I think that it’s a catchy phrase and you own it, it’s yours. I say work it girlfriend! (wait, you’re not my girlfriend, but I say work it!). You are original, this is original. Don’t go with the same old, same old.

  3. angelina says:

    Heres the deal..i like it keep it in. You are just one in a long line of suave and savy anchor men, Journalists, guys with cool catch phrases etc.etc. Dont own the phrase let it own you and a jedi you will become!

  4. heathersnyder1 says:

    Keep it, I love it! Don’t change a thing.
    P.S. I love your Bert and Ernie picture.

  5. Luda says:

    I haven’t been reading from Day 1 either, but I think if it feels constricting then do away with it.

    You are quite funny and that’s not going to change regardless, right?

  6. Debbi says:

    You’re absolutely hilarious.

    Keep both phrases. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 😉

  7. roxyhart1973 says:

    It’s a keeper. You only change the characters or get new actors coming in to a TV show when it’s past it’s prime, ratings have dropped and they are considering axing the show. They bring in fresh blood to liven things up and give the show a second chance.
    You however are not on the way out. So, don’t change a thing. It’s funny as heck, and I mean heck. I love it just the way it is. You had me at “Here’s the deal…”.

    • Makya McBee says:

      Elizabeth – Now that I know that I write what everybody is thinking…what should I do with this awesome power? I could write things like, “Hmmm, let’s give Makya all of our money,” – no, that would be selfish. I must find a way to use my abilities for the greater good – like making fun of Kook-Aid. Thanks very much for your kind words, they’re appreciated.

      Jennifer – Your comment has inspired a future Vs. which I am now composing in my mind…and thank you – no “same old same old” (jeez, there should be a new way to say that, huh?)

      Angelina – Wow, a jedi anchor man…hard to picture, but I like it. Growing up, people often said I was one part Tom Brokaw and one part Mark Hamill. Another vote for keep it, I’m sensing a trend.

      Heather – Another keep it, aww, shucks, you guys like me just the way I am…by the way, the Bert and Ernie picture loves you too.

      Luda – A valid point…a voice of reason…leaving it up to me…I like it…and no, my humor is not connected to my catchphrase…it’s connected to my facial hair – the more stubble, the more ha, ha…I’m like a stand up version of Samson (mixed with Tom Brokaw, Mark Hamill, and just a touch of Bert and Ernie)

      Debbi – That’s my kind of comment – “You’re absolutely hilarious” sums it up really well. Thank you. And it looks like I will keep it.

      Roxy – A nice analogy. I don’t know what I was thinking. This is NBC, Thursday nights in the 90’s, baby. Plus you referenced one of my favorite movies? This is a good day for comments, people. I really do appreciate all of the compliments and input – I am rededicated to providing you with the finest product money can’t buy. Onward and upward.

  8. I love your opening lines. I really enjoy reading this blog and I’ve come to expect the “Here’s the deal…”. Keep it, it’s like your trademark. WE LOVE YOU MAKYA MCBEE VS.!

Put yo' comments here

