Vs. Rating Yourself on a Scale of 1 to 10

Posted: May 22, 2011 in Behavior
Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s the deal.  I actually love ranking things.  Charts.  Graphs.  Top ten lists.  Brackets.  I can’t get enough of assigning things a percentage, numerical value or letter grade and then comparing them to other similar things.  I don’t know why…but I’d like to create a chart to try and figure it out.

The thing is, I like my rankings to have been given some serious thought.  I like them to be accurate.  And I generally don’t like it when someone is asked to rate themselves on a scale of 1 to 10.  It’s not the idea of this that irks me, it’s that no one is ever honest in their self-evaluation.

If you ask someone how attractive they are, on a scale of 1 to 10, their response is almost always 6, 7, 8 or 9.  Most people would never admit that they think themselves a perfect 10 and almost no one is willing to think of themselves as below average.  But this scale only works if some of us are 3’s and 4’s.  We can’t all be above average.

And it’s not just attractiveness – it works with any valued asset.  Go ahead, ask yourself…on a scale of 1 to 10…How smart are you?  How kind are you?  How honest are you?  I know what you’re thinking, about an 8, right? 

So, how am I going to do it?   How will I make everyone realize that we aren’t all 7’s and up?  Personally, when I want someone to evaluate themselves I ask, “How _______ are you, on a scale of 6 to 9?”  I still get all 7’s and 8’s, but at least there’s no pretense.  I mean, what’s the point of being in the top three if everyone else is as well?  “In this year’s Olympic bobsled, the gold medal goes to Norway and, what the heck, silver and bronze medals for everybody else.”

Wyoming state welcome sign, along Interstate 8...

Image via Wikipedia

 Look, I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but most of us are 5’s.  There should also be a lot of 4’s and 6’s.  Average, or a little below or above.  The 1’s and 2’s are incarcerated.  The 9’s and 10’s are running the world.  One thing that can help us deal with this sobering fact is using a larger scale, like 1 to 100.  “I’m a 64,” just sounds better than “I’m a 6.”  How attractive are you, on a scale of 1 to 1,000,000?  I happen to be a 472,891.  Not too shabby.

So think outside the box.  Use bigger numbers.  Or something completely different.  How good a friend are you, on a scale of red to violet?  How athletic are you, on a scale of cucumber to asparagus?  How happy are you, on a scale of Alabama to Wyoming?  At the very least, you’ll make the person give their answer some real thought and the answers are bound to be more interesting.

So, what do you think of this blog entry?  Me?  I give it a seven.

Comments
  1. angelina says:

    Personally if someone asks me how im doing i like to low ball it. Then as the day progresses ill add on untill im feelin like a 20

  2. heathersnyder1 says:

    I rate myself a -50 on a scale of 1 to 10.

    • Makya McBee says:

      Say it ain’t so. I’m not trying to make people underestimate themselves, and I apologize if my writing led you to doubt yourself. Trust me, no one’s a negative fifty on a scale of 1 to 10. (Because there is no negative fifty on a scale of 1 to 10).

      • heathersnyder1 says:

        OK, I’ll say a 1.5 just to say it. But, in my mind I still think -50. Likewise, when I’m much older I will be one of those women that lie about my age and say I’m 28 when I’m really 50. LOL!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I know several people that think they are 10’s! I said think they are 10’s

  4. Josha says:

    Magenta, zucchini, colorado!

  5. Roger Waite says:

    I rate myself on a scale of Legend of Zelda to Super Mario Brothers. Keeping it old school.

  6. trolling happily says:

    10s don’t run the world, unless you ask ‘On the scale from 1 to 10, how much of an asshole are you?’ 🙂

Put yo' comments here

